HOME | DD

saratogaroad avatar

saratogaroad — Tutorial: Convert from SFM to XPS


Tutorial: Convert from SFM to XPS
#tutorial #xpstutorial #xnalaratutorial #xps_posing_studio #xnalara_tutorial
Published: 2017-06-29 09:56:30 +0000 UTC; Views: 31659; Favourites: 188; Downloads: 336
Redirect to original
Description *A video version of this tutorial can be found Here . if you're having trouble with understanding a step, check there first. Same credits apply.

*Download for fullview. You're going to want it.

So I don't feel too comfortable porting and then posting models others have gone through the trouble of rigging. Just leaves a sour taste in my mouth, but I know the feeling of wanting a model but being unable to use it because programs or computers or download sizes and just. Mmph. (17GB? Valve you're trippin')

I do, however, feel comfortable teaching you how to port them for yourself! Teach a man to fish and all that. Are there other tutorials out there? Yes, but they all involve the use of Blender and 3DSMax, both of which can be confusing and one of which is a huge resource hog. So when I figured out that this method worked just great? I went with it. If there's any problems, let me know and I'll see what I can do!

Things you will need:

Noesis 4.12 or higher
Noesis XNALara Plugin
XNALara/XPS 11 or higher (any version with Material Editor; you can use Notepad/Notepad++ if you can't use a more recent version.)

*This does not convert shapekeys or flexes. You will likely lose the ability to pose your models faces. Some models may require textures to be edited before they'll render properly in XNA. Play around with things! It's the best way to learn.

If you encounter an issue, try these solutions first.

XPS Tools V1
1. Convert your .mdl into .mesh.ascii with Noesis
2. Use XPS Tools  to import the .mesh.ascii into Blender
3. Using that tool, export out as untitled.mesh (not mesh.ascii, just .mesh)
4. Drag and drop your .mesh into the posing window
5. Follow steps 7 and on.

XPS Tools V2
1. Use Noesis to convert from .mdl to .mesh.ascii
2. Use XPS Tools  to import the .mesh.ascii into Blender
3. Export from Blender as .fbx.
4. Use Noesis to convert that .fbx to .mesh.ascii again.
5. Drag'n'drop that NEW .mesh.ascii into the XPS posing window. Success! 
6. Assign textures using Material Editor
7. Use the Modify > Save Generic Item Menus to save your fixed model as needed.

VRCats Plugin
1. Convert your .mdl into .mesh.ascii with Noesis
2. Import your model into Blender using this plugin
3. Use the tool to fix the model (there's. literally a button that says Fix Model, I'm not kidding.) Export as .fbx
4. Convert that .fbx to .mesh.ascii using Noesis
5. Attempt to load again.

The XPS Plugin for Noesis can also be found here
Mediafire: www.mediafire.com/file/qwwoo6h…
Sendspace: www.sendspace.com/file/7vxohh

If none of these solutions work for you, comment or note me and I'll try to work out a solution. If you would rather I attempt the conversion for you, open a commission through my shop page.

*Hunter (c) Activision. Model by Anleas at Steam. 
Related content
Comments: 255

saratogaroadsaratogaroad In reply to ??? [2024-04-18 16:26:45 +0000 UTC]

In all Source .mdls, the rig is retained as it was in the original. In all input formats that I've ever tried the rig is maintained as it was in the original, honestly, so I see no reason why your files would be any different.


Mind you, sharing a file name type doesn't mean it'll work the same; Source/SFM .mdl is likely very different than MOWAS, and that latter one's not on Noesis' known file types list as far as I can see. Just try and see what happens, honestly; if you can get it to open in Noesis, the conversion is the same from there.

👍: 0 ⏩: 1

kfirpanther3kfirpanther3 In reply to saratogaroad [2024-04-18 23:58:21 +0000 UTC]

thank you!

👍: 0 ⏩: 0

Demonkiller47Demonkiller47 [2023-01-21 01:03:39 +0000 UTC]

can i get a new link to this addon?

👍: 0 ⏩: 1

saratogaroadsaratogaroad In reply to Demonkiller47 [2023-01-21 01:06:00 +0000 UTC]

All relevant links are in the description; if you're after the Noesis plug in, both the Mediafire and the Sendspace links at the bottom are still functional.

👍: 0 ⏩: 1

Demonkiller47Demonkiller47 In reply to saratogaroad [2023-01-21 01:07:10 +0000 UTC]

ok, but what i need is an addon that will let me convert mdl to xps

👍: 0 ⏩: 1

saratogaroadsaratogaroad In reply to Demonkiller47 [2023-01-21 01:10:23 +0000 UTC]

....you can do that already; Noesis comes with Source MDL compatibility already programmed in. So long as you have Noesis Version 4.12 or higher (and you should, as he's on Version 4.66 now) you can load Source MDLs without issue. If you're trying to load an .mdl and it's not working, that's not a Source MDL and I cannot help you further.

👍: 0 ⏩: 1

Demonkiller47Demonkiller47 In reply to saratogaroad [2023-01-21 03:42:17 +0000 UTC]

But do you think you could help me with this model? https://www.deviantart.com/thhypercombine12/art/Raven-by-Skuddbutt-Download-in-description-883090866

👍: 0 ⏩: 1

saratogaroadsaratogaroad In reply to Demonkiller47 [2023-01-21 05:39:28 +0000 UTC]

I do not take requests, only commissions. If you want me to convert her for you, that'll be 50 points. If you want to convert her yourself but are having issues, I'll need information on the issues you're having. "could you help" is far too little info for me to do anything with.

👍: 0 ⏩: 1

Demonkiller47Demonkiller47 In reply to saratogaroad [2023-01-21 15:16:51 +0000 UTC]

Ok let me figure out what the problem is

👍: 0 ⏩: 0

FeetopiahFeetopiah [2023-01-16 04:27:37 +0000 UTC]

Thank you for the tutorial! I have one problem though.

I don't see the option to export it to .mesh.ascii

Is it because of the XNALara version? I have 11.8

Feetopiah - Grafik

👍: 0 ⏩: 1

saratogaroadsaratogaroad In reply to Feetopiah [2023-01-16 05:24:34 +0000 UTC]

Nope! That means you didn't install the Noesis Plug-in that allows for converting; go back and check Step 4, that'll fix you.

👍: 0 ⏩: 0

Pabloran29Pabloran29 [2022-11-09 17:18:10 +0000 UTC]

Hello, thank you very much for the tutorial but I have a problem with the textures that when I save everything and reopen the model it gives me an error and that a file is missing

👍: 0 ⏩: 1

saratogaroadsaratogaroad In reply to Pabloran29 [2022-11-09 17:29:03 +0000 UTC]

Thaaaaaaaaat....I think that's an XPS 11.8.9 error because it's missing either the .xps or .mesh.ascii. in the model folder.  To fix that, load in your model and then go to Modify > Save Generic Item and select "Overwrite Selected Item" to save an .xps, and then again with the "Overwrite Selected Item" and the "Save as Generic_Item.mesh.ascii" options selected to save a .mesh.ascii file. Try to load it again.


If that doesn't work, you should still be able to drag'n'drop your saved model into the posing window and load it in that way, though it'll bring up the "can't find model" if you try to load a scene with it, so. Win some lose some.


If that doesn't work and you're using 11.8.9, downgrade to 11.8 which can be found here on DA It's more stable than the 11.8.9 release and hasn't given me any errors with dozens of SFM conversions, so. /shrug


If none of that works, post/note me a screenshot of your error and I'll see what I can do. It doesn't have to be in English, I just need to see it. Good luck!

👍: 1 ⏩: 1

Pabloran29Pabloran29 In reply to saratogaroad [2022-11-09 17:58:04 +0000 UTC]

Now it does save the model with the textures but I can't open it from the menu and I have to drag it, and I use version 11.8 to save it


Sorry if my English is not understood, it's because I speak Spanish and I don't know much English

👍: 0 ⏩: 1

saratogaroadsaratogaroad In reply to Pabloran29 [2022-11-09 18:07:06 +0000 UTC]

No worries! You're more than clear to me.


In order to use the menu, you need both an .xps and a .mesh.ascii file in the folder with your model. Hold on, maybe pictures will help.


To save an XPS, use these options:

silverhikari - X

And to save a .mesh.ascii, use these options:

silverhikari - Ma

The checkboxes should be in the same place no matter what language pack you're using, so save your model using both sets of boxes and see if it loads with the menu then. If it does not, then dragging it in is the only way I know to keep using that model. Buena suerte!

👍: 1 ⏩: 1

Pabloran29Pabloran29 In reply to saratogaroad [2022-11-09 18:30:38 +0000 UTC]

Thanks for the help 😁

👍: 0 ⏩: 0

venolfy0venolfy0 [2022-07-28 17:58:25 +0000 UTC]

Sorry to ask in that way, but it's about exporting xps models from blender to xps again. I'm using blender 2.79 and sometimes 2.80. Always when I export models, in xps program are too shiny meshes, I did everything and I don't know how to delete it, I can do that in xnalara, but it's soo painful to do.

👍: 0 ⏩: 1

saratogaroadsaratogaroad In reply to venolfy0 [2022-07-28 19:35:12 +0000 UTC]

That sounds like a texture issue to me, probably a spec or light map. You can either use the Material Editor in XPS and change the Render Group to 5 or 7 (7 offers transparency, 5 does not) which will clear the spec maps automatically, or use Notepad/Notepad++ and search for your textures. There'll be a "NUMBER"_ in front of the texture name, change that from whatever it is to "5_" or "7_", without the " and then save. That should do.


Or, if I've completely misread your problem, drop a screenshot of your shiny model here and I'll see what I can do.

👍: 0 ⏩: 1

venolfy0venolfy0 In reply to saratogaroad [2022-07-29 00:40:16 +0000 UTC]

It's work in both ways, but I can delete this shine with one click not to change the numbers? Some models can have a too many meshes and need time.


Often I'm exporting some models from blender to obj. format for other render program but looks shine like in xps and if I need transparent mesh (example: hair) they have white expect black texture (as background where they placed) in Keyshot (second photo) but also is on all meshes, not even transparent.
You can see it where is white box where written is "diffuse" next to blend with color.
It's problem too, but I will understand if you don't know.

👍: 0 ⏩: 1

saratogaroadsaratogaroad In reply to venolfy0 [2022-07-29 02:24:43 +0000 UTC]

If you use Ctrl + H in either Notepad or Notepad++, you'll bring up a menu that in English is called "Replace". Insert the "NUMBER"_ you want to change, the one that refers to the Render Group with the Spec-Map attached, and replace it with "5_" or "7_", again without the quotation marks. Notepad++ has an option of Replace All, but depending on your model there could be numbers you don't want replaced, so I'd suggest hitting the Replace button one by one. The number you want to replace will be the one at the start of the "NUMBER_" texture reference. Go through your mesh files and see if that solves the issue.


Because otherwise...the issue in XPS is absolutely a spec-map, but I think it has something to do your Keyshot settings. I doubt what works for XPS is going to work for Keyshot, and to be completely honest, I hadn't even heard of that program before seeing this comment.  I have no idea where to start getting them to work the same way, so the best advice I can offer is save your .xps/.mesh.ascii files with one set of render groups, and have a different file for use in Keyshot that behaves better there. Good luck!

👍: 1 ⏩: 1

venolfy0venolfy0 In reply to saratogaroad [2022-07-29 17:08:20 +0000 UTC]

okay! I think I resolved problems with your help!

I decided I will deleted shine meshes in xps or blender and for keyshot I deleted diffuse and shine intensity to 0 in material tab.

Thank you for help ^_^

👍: 0 ⏩: 0

Godzillajack1Godzillajack1 [2022-03-10 11:21:46 +0000 UTC]

Hi, thanks for this tutorial, it's very useful. But I had some problems on some models: when I load all the files in the "materials" folder on the "models" folder and click on the exported file in ascii mesh, still in the "models" folder, it gives me "error, invalid path format ". I don't understand where I'm wrong, yet I followed all the steps correctly. Do you know why this happens?

👍: 0 ⏩: 1

saratogaroadsaratogaroad In reply to Godzillajack1 [2022-03-10 16:20:46 +0000 UTC]

I...do not recall ever seeing that error before, no. Hm. Can you screencap the error message you're getting? Doesn't matter if it's not in English, I just need to see it.


Because if you've got all the textures converted and in the same folder as the model's mesh, it should work normally. Invalid path does not sound like working normally to me.

👍: 0 ⏩: 2

saratogaroadsaratogaroad In reply to Godzillajack1 [2022-03-11 16:14:59 +0000 UTC]

Hrm. That's an error I've seen before, actually, hold a moment.


There's two solutions I've found for this problem, esp. if it's referencing 41_.


1: You can try opening the .mesh.ascii in Notepad or Notepad++ and changing the "41_" to "5_" and the following texture line to 1 textures and see if that helps. If you haven't already run the solutions in the (now cleaned up!) description, run through those.


2: If that doesn't work, convert your .mdl to .fbx, then convert THAT .fbx to .mesh.ascii, all through Noesis.


If neither of those work and you still really want this model, note me for a commission and I'll see if I can fix it myself. Because beyond these two I've got...just about nothing.

👍: 0 ⏩: 1

Godzillajack1Godzillajack1 In reply to saratogaroad [2022-03-11 16:18:52 +0000 UTC]

ok thanks

👍: 0 ⏩: 0

Godzillajack1Godzillajack1 In reply to saratogaroad [2022-03-10 20:42:22 +0000 UTC]

ok, as soon as I can I'll send you a photo.

👍: 0 ⏩: 0

eternitysgaeternitysga [2022-03-05 21:34:33 +0000 UTC]

Hi, thank you so much for this tutorial, you're the real MVP.


My model has a separate body and head (head didn't have facial bones in game but they were added by the creator). I read through the comments below and I exported both as mesh.ascii and exported all the textures.


It all loads fine in XNALara, I added both body and head to the scene and fit them together. They were both really huge so I scaled them down and had to move them so they were "on" the ground, not clipping through it. Then I continued with the tutorial, added textures and in the end selected "Export scene as mesh (merge all models)".


I went to test my new model, only to find that the head is miles away from the body and both models are still huge (though standing upright). It looks like the head part is in the correct position but the body part somehow stayed like that. I did get an exception while adding textures but the program let me continue.


Do I need to save the body and the head separately as generic item, put them in one scene again and then export-merge them together?


https://i.imgur.com/sUu9PcE.jpg

👍: 0 ⏩: 1

saratogaroadsaratogaroad In reply to eternitysga [2022-03-05 22:31:07 +0000 UTC]

....well kudos for getting the camera *that* far out holy crap.


Okay, so to fix this you need to use the Add To dialogue, not the "export scene as mesh" dialogue.


1. Scale the head and body to whatever size you want them, then for each model go to Modify > Save Generic_Item and select the option "modify armature according to the current pose". Do this for both, then load the new model files together. Make sure they're the right size, and if they're not scale and save again with the "modify armature" option selected once more.


2: Load in your appropriately sized models and line them up appropriately. Once you have the head where you want it, select it and find the "lower neck" bone; sometimes this'll be "neck 1" or "Neck" or "bip neck", depending on your model's source. With that bone selected, go to  Options > Add To.. and select your body mesh in the window that opens. Find the "neck lower" bone of the body mesh, and select okay.


3:  Save your new joined model using "modify armature" again, and then reload XPS entirely to get rid of the parts. Load in your joined model and, if need be, use the Move option on the axis controls to get any pieces that may have jumped back into line. If you've had to do that, use the "modify armature" saving once AGAIN to get it to save properly, and you should be done! I hope.


Now, you might run into an issue where, when attempting to join models, it'll tell you one or the other ignores the root ground rule. You can either ignore that and try anyway, which....oh, I wanna say works 9 times out of 10 for me, or select the models and go to Modify > Clean Armature, which should assign it a root ground bone. If you've done that, re-save using the Modify > Save Generic_item dialogue and try Step 2 again.


If none of that works, let me know and I'll...see what I can do. Or, if you'd prefer, you can note me for a commission and I'll try it myself. Best of luck either way.

👍: 0 ⏩: 1

eternitysgaeternitysga In reply to saratogaroad [2022-03-06 07:02:03 +0000 UTC]

Okay, some progress! I scaled them and now they're both the size and placement where I want them.


Body gives me the root ground error and clearing armature ends up with this error: https://i.imgur.com/lB9mYQ7.jpg (translated something like "Index is out of field boundary"


So I ignored the error and joined them in Step 2. However, when I close XPS, then open the joined model, the head isn't showing up. In the bones, the bones seem to show up fine but when selecting them, the indicator stays at 0,0,0 coordinate and doesn't move to highlight the bone. I checked and the head is nowhere, even when I zoom out really far.


https://i.imgur.com/tq3HtHr.jpg


Do the neck bones need to be in the same position/coordinates? Because the head one is higher than the body one.

👍: 0 ⏩: 1

saratogaroadsaratogaroad In reply to eternitysga [2022-03-06 08:33:49 +0000 UTC]

In my experience, the coordinates are less than important. I've never gotten them to match and done plenty of successful meshmods all the same.


Now, this issue just got a bit more complicated. XPS failed to clean up the armature and add the root ground itself, so while I was trying to avoid sending you this way, you're going to need to do it the harder way.


1: Get Blender version 2.79 or higher, and the XPS tools plug-in linked in the description above that matches your Blender version. Install the plug-in into Blender.


2: Using the XPS plug-in, import one appropriately scaled model at a time. Do not touch or edit the model/armature, just click on "Export Model" in the plug-in controls and save the model as "untitled.mesh". Be very sure you're getting .mesh and not .mesh.ascii or .xps. Repeat this with both models.


3. Go back to XPS, load in the new untitled.mesh files, maneuver them appropriately but do NOT scale or pose them again as you'll have to repeat this step 2 every time you save as .xps or .mesh.ascii. Once you have head and body lined up, use the Add To... Dialogue and save as I described in the previous comment. Save, reload XPS, and see how it worked.


That...should do you, but if it doesn't I literally have no other ideas how to make this work. Best of luck!

👍: 0 ⏩: 1

eternitysgaeternitysga In reply to saratogaroad [2022-03-08 20:01:35 +0000 UTC]

Ok, I already had Blender 2.79 and XPS tools so that was ok, exported both to .mesh files.


Loaded into XPS (still got the error "this model ignores the root ground bone" for the body), positioned them and after using "add to" the head appeared between the legs but I saved it anyway. Reopened in XPS, and the head is still missing.


https://imgur.com/XDKn8bK.jpg


I'm very confused as to what's going on and why it refuses to work. Also, is the head supposed to have a ground root? I'll probably note you a commission since I wanna know what the heck is happening with that model 😁

👍: 0 ⏩: 1

saratogaroadsaratogaroad In reply to eternitysga [2022-03-08 21:05:31 +0000 UTC]

All models are supposed to have a root ground bone, yes, but this...does occasionally happen in that nothing seems to work for them. At this point I am...thoroughly out of suggestions because I don't get it myself, but...maybe it's a by computer thing I don't know.


If you do want to commission me, it'll be 50 points by note. Send me a link to the original source model (SFMLab, Source, etc.) but hold off on buying points for the moment. Let me see if I can get it working first; payment for services is only fair if I can provide the service!

👍: 0 ⏩: 1

eternitysgaeternitysga In reply to saratogaroad [2022-03-12 21:50:52 +0000 UTC]

OK, so I started from scratch and progressed somewhat, I no longer get the ground error but the head is missing still from the joined parts. Connecting the neck nodes makes the head drop down to between the legs again. I'm thoroughly confused why I didn't get the error this time.


When I run each model through Blender, that's when I get the root ground error on the body.


The model is on Steam here: https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=2484830234 Let me know if you can make sense of it and I'll be happy to comission you! :)

👍: 0 ⏩: 0

bandicootbrawl96bandicootbrawl96 [2021-09-16 16:40:44 +0000 UTC]

When I import to blender there's an error and only some meshes of the model shows up. My Blender XPS plug in is 1.8.7

👍: 0 ⏩: 1

saratogaroadsaratogaroad In reply to bandicootbrawl96 [2021-09-16 17:25:47 +0000 UTC]

The plug-in is currently on version 2.0.0, so I'd suggest an upgrade, but beyond that you'll need to ask on the XPS Tools page itself as I don't know how it works and couldn't begin to troubleshoot it for you.

👍: 0 ⏩: 0

JoshuaB2000JoshuaB2000 [2021-07-26 21:18:40 +0000 UTC]

Does this process work with SFM models from SFMLab, and SFM models from DeviantArt?

👍: 0 ⏩: 1

saratogaroadsaratogaroad In reply to JoshuaB2000 [2021-07-26 21:33:38 +0000 UTC]

The location the files came from is irrelevant. I reference both the Workshop and SFMLab here because they're the most popular and an extra step is required to download from the Workshop, but so long as you have the .mdl file(s) and relevant .vtfs, the source of your file does not matter at all. SFMLab, Workshop, DA, random Sketchfab or blog posts...don't matter. Steps 3 through 13 apply to all models.

👍: 0 ⏩: 1

JoshuaB2000JoshuaB2000 In reply to saratogaroad [2021-07-26 21:50:16 +0000 UTC]

Oh.

👍: 0 ⏩: 0

DanteAce69DanteAce69 [2021-07-19 23:10:10 +0000 UTC]

do you have the xps plugins in mediafire?


please


the page does not load me

👍: 0 ⏩: 1

saratogaroadsaratogaroad In reply to DanteAce69 [2021-07-20 04:41:39 +0000 UTC]

I...actually still do! Here you go: https://www.mediafire.com/file/qwwoo6hmg2qu5vx/fmt_nxps_0_9_6.zip/file

👍: 1 ⏩: 1

DanteAce69DanteAce69 In reply to saratogaroad [2021-07-20 04:44:22 +0000 UTC]

Thank you

👍: 0 ⏩: 0

zackfair00210zackfair00210 [2021-06-18 04:45:03 +0000 UTC]

MAN! THANKS ALOT!

👍: 0 ⏩: 0

Legendarysaiyan7Legendarysaiyan7 [2021-05-15 03:11:38 +0000 UTC]

I'm not sure why but noesis lets me convert the model but no longer converts the VTF files to png or tga. It says ERROR: Could not write to the file location. I even updated noesis to the latest version and used the plug in as well as running as administrator.

👍: 0 ⏩: 1

saratogaroadsaratogaroad In reply to Legendarysaiyan7 [2021-05-15 03:19:27 +0000 UTC]

...Okay what the absolute fuck is going on here uh. Hrm. See, that's not a conversion issue, that's a File Write error which means it's trying to write to somewhere it doesn't have access to. Running as Admin and saving in a public location such as Downloads, Documents, or Desktop (or any subfolder of those three) should be  going through, but if it's not...hrm.


All I can think of is, if you're running Win 10, some kind of security update may have changed Noesis' access to writing files. I wouldn't have a clue how to fix that, and if you are running Win 10, I can't help with a thing because I'm still running Win 7.  Also out of scope of the tutorial so, /shrug/ Good luck, man. I got nothin'.

👍: 0 ⏩: 1

Legendarysaiyan7Legendarysaiyan7 In reply to saratogaroad [2021-05-15 03:34:21 +0000 UTC]

Yeah....I am on windows 10, had been all this time but this issue only recently just started where as I was able to convert multiple models without issue before hand. I haven't done any changes from the directions either. My laptop did have an update but it hadn't installed yet and my antivirus isn't picking up on noesis. either

👍: 0 ⏩: 1

saratogaroadsaratogaroad In reply to Legendarysaiyan7 [2021-05-15 03:48:00 +0000 UTC]

Hm. Well, I say try another model in case it's somehow just those files, but legit all else I can think of is moving the .vtf files to your Desktop, converting them there, and if they convert, move the output files back to the appropriate folder. If that doesn't work, try getting 'hold of Rich on Twitter (his handle is DickWhitehouse) and see if he can help. I don't see any other form of contact directly on his site...maybe the Xentax forums would have more of an idea, I dunno, but you're the second person running Win 10 to have encountered this so my gut is saying Win 10 problem, abort abort abort.

👍: 0 ⏩: 1

Legendarysaiyan7Legendarysaiyan7 In reply to saratogaroad [2021-05-15 04:14:05 +0000 UTC]

Thanks for the help, this is the second model in a row that had his happen with the one before it also not working so I'm guessing it's not model specific but I'll see about it.

👍: 0 ⏩: 0

MediaMan44MediaMan44 [2021-05-10 03:53:27 +0000 UTC]

It's not working, I did everything the tutorial says and I just cannot get a model ported, I tried the blender technique and that didn't work either.

👍: 0 ⏩: 1

MediaMan44MediaMan44 In reply to MediaMan44 [2021-05-10 03:54:19 +0000 UTC]

I did the tutorial and XNAlara did not read it, it says "cannot find mesh" and it removed the folder from the system, I need help here!

👍: 0 ⏩: 1


1 | Next =>